10g Nano reef by a complete noob (help will be needed)

DanB80TTS

So before I get into the tank I want to build I feel like a little background is need of why I am doing a saltwater tank and why I am here on this forum in the first place.

Why Reef Central?
Well I am part of 3 other forums, 2 of which are active, 1 very active which is fine. My hobby has always revolved around freshwater but I'd often click into random threads to look at salt tanks. However now that I own salt and need the help, the salt sides of all of these forums are practically dead so wouldn't it make sense to join a saltwater dedicated forum? The answer is probably yes, so here I am!

How did I get into saltwater?
I have owned or been a part of freshwater tanks for around 10 years when my Dad and I got started on them. I grew up, got married and took my fish keeping a little further and now own 7-8ish tanks (ish? I make changes and break down and redo tanks pretty often so there isn't always 8 running)
About 1-2months ago I was looking through craigslist for deals on aquariums and somehow came across a 37g saltwater tank for $20, who is going to pass that up? Of course it wasn't going to be an amazing reef set up but a neglected FOWLR that someone had lost interest in. In short there was more hair algae than there was water, the live rock basically looked like giant marimo moss balls and the filtration consisted of an aqueon 10 and a Hydor nano 240.

I decided that I would get the tank and transfer it all down to a 20g long tank and use the stand since it would fit the 20g and that's what I did. I sold the 37g tank itself which reimbursed me for both the entire setup and paid for a bag of salt. Fast forward a little bit and after trying to turn the tank around by switching to RO water (previous owner used tap), adding a 425gph powerhead and trying to maintain the tank into better condition to no avail I started losing interest in it.