500g Mechanical Filtration

nzafi

Hi All. I am new to this forum and to be honest I am a freswater hobbyist, not a saltwater. The reason I am posting this is because reefing keep tech is significantly more advanced than what we do and I was recommended to reach out to you folks. Here goes.

I am setting up a 450-550g tank and the objective is to make it as maintenance free as possible. One of the biggest issue for us freshwater guys is cleaning the substrate and then dealing with constant clogged filter socks in a sump. I want to avoid both. I was told that you guys use various pool/jacuzzi filters to help with mechanical filtration. Specifically, I have linked below to a pentair filter that was recommended to me and is suppose to be one used by reefers with large tanks.

https://pstpoolsupplies.com/cartrid...Ft9W-GyGF3rgtjTSGREoSMuPuFd8GBVxoCKLkQAvD_BwE

My questions are as follows:
1) Do you use these filters or something similar? Not sure if this is consider old tech. I tried searching the forums and could not find much frankly.
2) When you use filters like this, how do you determine pump type and size? I could not find much on the manufacturers website. The folks I know using this are running reeflo hammerhead pumps
3) Do you find using this filter gets clogged with sand? I want to use a substrate but the 1-2 people using this filter in freshwater have barebottom tanks with the inlet all the way on the bottom.
4) Do these types of filters get clogged quickly? Can the cartridges be re-used?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Some additional background on the tank in case you need it:
- Will be about 8x4x30in (tall)
- Bio filtration will be run completely separately
- Will be running an auto drip to do automatic water changes
- Plan on having two holes drilled on the bottom of the tank with strainers attached to bulkheads.