54 Corner with lots of DIY

tundra1000

I have been hanging out on this site for darn near four years and I am finally building my first sw tank. The plans have changed a few times and we have moved a few times which have kept us from getting a tank going. It was decided that my old freshwater 54 would be the right tank because there is still a possibility of another move. The 54 setup will not be too painful to move. The eventual plan is a larger setup- 120 minimum and this 54 will become a seahorse tank.

I had posted some of this in another thread but decided it warranted its own build thread. I have quite a few DIY projects in the future but this will bring us up to date.

The beginnings of the stand:
DSC07494.jpg

DSC07492.jpg

DSC07491.jpg

DSC07495.jpg

The hood:
DSC07501.jpg

DSC07500.jpg

DSC07497.jpg

DSC07496.jpg

Last edited:
A truly rounded stand

A truly rounded stand

The stand and hood are skinned with a bendable 3/8" plywood and trimmed with flexible trim from trimster.com.

DSCF0679.jpg

DSCF0672.jpg

DSCF0668.jpg

DSCF0667.jpg

DSCF0666.jpg

DSCF0665.jpg

Almost up to date...

Almost up to date...

So this last post brings us up to date. I have been able to get the hood and stand completely painted. The door still needs a little work, hopefully it will be on tomorrow. Today was a good day though because the tank graduated from the garage to the living room:spin1::spin1:

DSCF0691.jpg

DSCF0762.jpg

Painted the back of the tank:
DSCF0766.jpg

DSCF0768.jpg

And the plumbing that will be exposed behind the tank:
DSCF0767.jpg

And finally, its new resting place...
DSCF0769.jpg

Followed up by the unfortunate side effects of a non-reef ready tank... It doesn't stick away from the wall as bad as I thought it would so I will take what I can get.
DSCF0770.jpg

Well that's up to date. The next big item will be the DIY LED setup with Arduino controller.

Thanks for looking. Questions, comments, suggestions are absolutely welcome.

-Matt

LED Lighting