A little help on where to go from here...

Doobze

Alright, I'm just looking for a little input from those of you with experience successfully keeping SPS.

A little bit about my experience and the history of the tank so far:

This tank is my first real all-out attempt at having an SPS specialized tank. It's a 58g (NOT rimless), same dimensions as the Oceanic 58g, set up peninsula style with a 20g long underneath as the sump. My last tank (same physical tank actually) was fairly successful except with SPS (which I accumulated every known pest for) and ran for almost 2 years before I sold off all the rock and living things in it. Learning from this previous tank, I set out to turn my tank into an "acro garden."

In this pursuit I set up the new incarnation of my tank last summer barebottom with an MP40 on full blast at the front and a K3 near the back to get behind the rocks. I'm a student and I really am trying to make this tank as self cleaning as possible by design. The large amount of flow does a great job of keeping things suspended, just about nothing sticks to the bottom for more than a few minutes. I have a 250w Radium sitting about 15-16" off of the water in a lumenmax elite (hung in an entirely sketchy manner, I'll throw up pics lol).

With simplicity in mind, the sump contains little except for my Reef Octopus Extreme 160 skimmer, 2 stealth heaters, a dual BRS reactor, and my return pump. Lights and heaters and such are all controlled and monitored by a Reefkeeper Lite. An ATO keeps my SG constant.

Now, my first two fish that I put in were rescue fish. Big mistake, they had ich, forcing me to run the tank fishless for 8 weeks. My few test frags of things like montis, zoos, seriatapora, and pocillipora did not fare will with the fishless period. Many paled out to almost white and about half STN'd.

Within the last 4 weeks, I've built up my fish list to include:
2x black line fang blennys
2x black misbar ocellaris clowns
3x small blue/green chromis