Algae: Need a good quality phosphate remover.

sue711

I have been using Pura Phoslock for the past 9 months, but still having some hair algae issues. What do you all use and recommend. I have only 30 total gallons to treat so I don't need huge quantity here. Thanks.

Readings are all:
t 79-81
ph 8.01-8.25
sg 1.025
mg 1265
ca 415-435
dkh 8.9-9.8
nh4 0
no3 0
po4 0

I have recently gone to a bare bottom tank as I was having nutrient export problems (had a shallow sand bed)... I am a 9 month reefer, so I guess I do have a tendency to feed too much. I have a medium stocked 20 gallon tank with both lps and sps corals, and 2 large groups of dendros that I feed twice weekly. I have 2 clowns, and a clean up crew or 3 turbos, 10 astraeas, 1 cerith snail. I am trying to get a good handle on over feeding my tank though. I feed the clowns daily a rotating schedule of frozen and flake. I feed the corals 1cc of Oyster Feast or Roti Feast or a pinch of DTs oyster eggs twice a week, the same days that I spot feed each of the dendro heads (there are about 25 to feed)

I have 220gph returning from sump, and MP10 on 1/2 throttle so probably providing another 700 gph in the tank... total 920 gph running through 20 gallon display tank. Total display tank turnover would be about 46x an hour.

I have PC lights. 2 x 65 watt bulbs. One is actinic and on for 8.5 hours a day, the other is a 10,000k on for 6.5 hours.

I use both an AC Remora and a Tunze 9002 in my sump for skimming. I also use a filter sock that gets changed every three days. I use carbon in a canister that I have running off the sump, and that is where I place my GFO too. I change the carbon every two weeks, rinse out the canister at that time as well. Inside the canister is only a handful of ceramic bioballs that I use to sandwich over the carbon and GFO bags to keep them from smashing around too much in the canister. I change the GFO every month.