Am I going to die?

One fish

In Memoriam
I am new to corals and zoas and when I just bought some the seller told me all these horror stories of people in the hospital and dead from the zoas poison. I just fragged some today... obviously they expelled some of their poison right?... and then when I was doing a water change about 8 hours later to take the poison out of my tank I accidentally swallowed about a 1/8 of a cup when I was starting the syphon. I immediately went to my bathroom and gargled hydrogen peroxide and took a shot of 100 proof rum. Should I go to the ER or what. Very scarred:thumbdown

I wore gloves when I fragged them but I am just worried about ingesting the saltwater from the newly fragged zoas...

Most of our zoas aren't dangerous. That said, we also aren't very aware of the ones that are. So it's kinda like driving to work in the morning - we know a car crash can hurt or sometimes kill us, but we all do it anyway and use appropriate protections.

A bigger threat to you, much more concerning than a little tank water, is squirts. Wear goggles, gloves, and ideally a dustmask while you are fragging. There is no antidote to palytoxin so peroxide or rum did nothing more than whiten your teeth and screw up your judgment for a little bit.

There are a few good threads in the Zoa forum. Read 'em.

I would suggest that any person who keeps coral or uses real live rock to not mouth-siphon water from their tanks. No need to take the risk of swallowing something that could be harmful. Clean water going into the tank is fine.

BTW, the rum may not have done anything to protect you from toxins but a sip of rum always makes the day better. ;)