Aqualogs: One man's fight with software to make pretty graphs

Dr.T

Tl;dr Built a web site for keeping track of aquarium parameters, https://aqualogs.com. Used a lot of diverse technologies as an excuse to play with them.

Hello all, I'm a long-time lurker on ReefCentral. I've been lurking for more than 10 years around here (and then forgot my password for my old account). In particular, I've always been a fan of the DIY board. One of my favorite aspects of this hobby is the engineering aspect. Designing systems to mimic the ocean is no trivial task and the projects I see people take on in this board always amaze me.
I'm a software engineer by trade and I've always wanted to find some projects that merge my two hobbies: building beautiful software and reef systems. I settled on building a tool to help keep track of the various parameters in my aquarium over time. I've tried paper logs in the past but I always seem to lose them (or drown them with spillage"¦). Consistency is key to a healthy reef and you can't keep something stable if you aren't tracking it over time. And so, aqualogs.com was born.

There are a few key things I wanted to be able to do with Aqualogs
1. Have a central cloud based storage system for all my tank parameters
2. Visualize how the parameters are changing over time
3. Compare my parameters to some target range visually
4. Share what I've created with other people

With those goals in mind, I began my build. The first trick was choosing a mechanism for storing the parameters and the times at which they were taken. This was the easiest decision I had to make. I went with PostgreSQL. PostgreSQL is a relational database that is open source and free to use. Plus, it has a lot of supporting tooling that makes it easy to use. It's highly performant and can easily manage a significant amount of data provided the server you're running it on is big enough.