Aquarium controller

Andyr005

Im looking to upgrade my display tank. I want to add a controller to monitor PH, salinity and tempature. Perhaps add an ATO down the road. I don't think I need to monitor ORP. I was looking at an apex controller but wasn't sure what would be the most appropriate unit. As being able to balance affordability and function are important to me. Obviously being able to web control is a huge plus. However I've read mixed reviews about Apex; on one hand I hear apex is the best but on the other I read they have a horrible warranty and customer service. What are general thoughts and experiences?

The things you mentioned can be done by most of the controllers. I would imagine that you can find negative post on most of them as well. I do not use an Apex, so I have no experience with their customer service.

BRS does offer a RKL system with the SL2 module at times which will do the things that you mention with the exception of network connectivity. Otherwise you would have to get the SL2 (module with salinity port) and or the NET (Network module)as a seperate modules. The RKL has a 4 module limit(the net module does not count against the module limit), so once your needs exceed this limit you would have to upgrade to the RKE or Archon head unit to save your investment in modules with the system and be able to expand past the limit.

Im looking to upgrade my display tank. I want to add a controller to monitor PH, salinity and tempature. Perhaps add an ATO down the road. I don't think I need to monitor ORP. I was looking at an apex controller but wasn't sure what would be the most appropriate unit. As being able to balance affordability and function are important to me. Obviously being able to web control is a huge plus. However I've read mixed reviews about Apex; on one hand I hear apex is the best but on the other I read they have a horrible warranty and customer service. What are general thoughts and experiences?