At my wits end. Looking for advice before I nuke the tank.

HWDylan

I apologize in advance because this is going to be long but I am at my wits end here and dont know what else to do.

I have a tank that has been up and running for about 4 years now. Things have been ok but I have never really had great success. Sure in the begninning I made my share of mistakes and much of my problems I had early on were easily diagnosed. Here I am 4 years later though and I would like to believe that I know what I am doing to some degree. I am by no means an expert but I understand the ins and outs of reef keeping to some degree.

So here is my problem: 4 years in and I cant seem to get coral to color up at all. Infact quite the opposite, stuff that was once beautiful and vibrant at the LFS turns washed out and pale in my tank very quickly or outright dies. I have had this problem for a long long time and now I feel like I am always chasing the solution. If I just do this or that things will improve. Things never really seem to imporve though. The coral I do have is more or less "surviving" rather than thriving.

Now lets check off the list off the things I know everyone is thinking right now.

Tank: 75 gallon display with a 55 gallon sump.

Lighting: Originally started with a Rapid LED DIY kit I built myself. Ran that for about 3 years and then last year I switched to a ReefBreeders Photon48. I thought the new light would fix my issue because I blamed my problems on my ineptitude in building an LED fixture. "I must have screwed something up building it" or "maybe it just isnt powerful enough". Regardless, I upgraded to a light I KNOW people have success with and saw no change at all.

Water Quality: My system is run by an APEX with BRS dosers. I test weekly for Cal, Alk, Mag, NO3, and PO4 as well as check salinity every once and a while just to be sure.