Beginner who needs some tips and has some questions.

Jabbe

Hello all!

I am new to this, and currently getting ready to set up my first reef tank, a 530 gallon Aqua Medic. The last few months I've been trying to research as much as i can, as I knew basically nothing about saltwater aquariums, other than it required a stable water quality. I didn't know much about what species you could have either, so i am a complete beginner, haha, so any tips are greatly appreciated.

I am soon ready to start my cycle, planning on using live sand from CaribSea (Fiji Pink) with Pukani rock, and a couple of bottles of Bio-Spira. Will I need to ghost feed this, or will the pukani have enough dead stuff on it to start the cycle without any ghost feeding?
I've got a sump ready, and I'm going to try and set it up using the Herbie method, but never done anything like that before, so who knows how that will work out :lmao:

What I want, is this to work, and since I'm new, I dont want aggressive fish, or fish that can or will eat any of my other critters or corals. I also don't want too big fish, rather more small ones. After looking into this a bit, I've found some species of fish, corals and inverts I think might work, but I need your advice on this. I don't mind having just one of a species if they are aggressive towards the same species.

I would like a clown pair, and I'm thinking the Ocellaris Clownfish will be the best one? I don't think I want an anemone since I'm new and I have a feeling that would only mean trouble, haha, so I was thinking I might want some Hammer Coral since they seemed to be rather easy to keep, and can host the Clownfish?

I also would love to get an Algae Blenny, but they could nip on and disturb clams? How would that work if I added a Squamosa Clam? I would like a clam, and Squamosa seemed to be more suited for me (beginner). Would the Blenny disturb the clam too much?