Bio pellet help/Question

tynman

Has anyone using bio pellets have them all float up to the reactor and stay there? They just stopped tumbling. I have been using them since Aug 20, 2011, so about a month now. They were tumbling very nicely and then I checked to see how they are doing and they where all floating together. They are not clumped up together. I opened the reactor and took a stick and sturd them up to make sure they werent stuck together and they all fell to the bottom. I turned the water back on to it and they all floated back up to the top again. Does anyone know why? I am using the tlf reactor and BRS pellets.

Perhaps due to Nitrogen gas produced by bacteria which may adhear to the pellets. Reactors used for research have a port tube to allow N2 gas produced from bacterial respiration to vent off.

It could be from CO2 gas produced by bacterial respriation as well. ;)

tynman

Perhaps due to Nitrogen gas produced by bacteria which may adhear to the pellets. Reactors used for research have a port tube to allow N2 gas produced from bacterial respiration to vent off.

It could be from CO2 gas produced by bacterial respriation as well. ;)

So is there a way I could fix it? Or make it stop flooting to the top? I have been hitting the reactior to make them drop and then once I turn the water flow back on they just flot back to the top...

I suspect that the bacteria producing N2 gas are not directly on the surface of the pellets and are in crevises where anaeriobic respiration takes place. Perhaps these bacteria are deeper within biofilms (anaerobic conditions) as well which can be on the surface. This means the N2 gas will build up before it can leave and make the pellets more boyant. The only easy solution would be to jar the pellets to allow the gas to escape. You could increase flow, but IMHO this may be counter-productive in that it can sluff-off bacteria too quickly and reduce nitrate reduction. ;)

tynman