BK Double Cone 130 newbie question

Mjm376bh

Good day everyone and thanks for all the wonderful information here! I'm new to the hobby and also a very new owner of a BK Double Cone 130 - what an amazing product!

Question I have: every time I shut down the skimmer to empty the cup, I have to do a couple of restarts. On the first restart, the pump doesn't have full power. A second restart gets it back to full power and then it works with no problems until the next time I have to shut down the skimmer. Any thoughts?

The skimmer is plugged into the Apex power bar.

Thank you!

One of two things would be your issue. You either need to take the pump apart and completely clean it by soaking the block and impeller in vinegar. Calcium could be building up inside the block which would cause friction where the impeller shaft goes into the bearing inside the block. The 2nd possibility would be that there is water in the venturi line which would make it seem that the pump isn't running at full speed. An easy way to test and clean that issue without restarting the pump would be to place a finger over the air intake on the silencer when you first start the pump up. Then release it after a few seconds. That will clear any water from the line. if you skimmer is in more than 7" of water, this is the likely cause. Also, if you do nothing and let the pump run for a few minutes, the water will clear itself. It can be compounded by salt creep in the venturi inlet on the pumps nozzle. As such, it's wise to remove the nozzle from the block and inspect the venturi intake nipple and clear out any salt that is crusted up in there. I use a tooth pick to do that.

Thank you slief! The skimmer is indeed in 7.5" water - I will raise it by 1". Will check all recommended steps. Truly appreciate RE's customer service, what an amazing product. An absolutely pleasure to interact with such wonderful engineering. Best regards and a happy holiday season!