Clown Fry Success

jmowbray

Well I'm happy to post that almost two weeks Tuesday my clowns at healthy and happy. They hatched on May 9th at 10pm. I estimate that when hatched I had approximately 60-70. However after the first 48 hours I had 50ish. I did notice on the ones that died just after hatching their tails were black while 90% of the other were just clear. Not sure what this means so anyone into clown please let me know. They receive a tank that has been culturing rotifers and green water for approximately one month before their introduction. They are currently on brine and I would say ~80% of them have went through meta. I have only had two deaths thus far. Yesterday morning they had developed their head stripe and this morning a few already have their tail stripe coming in. This is my first time ever breeding any SW fish and from what I have read only a few major clown breeders are able to attain 90% success rates in the transition through meta. I would say that with still around 50 remaining and showing no signs of anything but the need for FOOD I'm currently well above 90% and am quite happy.

Good job, the first batch I kept I had about the same amount as you hatch, I don't think I lost any through meta.

The second batch I only had 15 or so hatch.

It seams that my clowns lay 200 eggs, but I can only get a quarter to hatch if that.

How many dose yours lay?

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk

Very cool. I have a pair that have been doing the dance. Waiting on their new home to cycle. Hopefully move them in another week or so.