Diy Sump

HEADCHEF1971

CAN SOMEONE HELP ME ? IM BUILDING A REFUGIUM SUMP FOR MY 58 GALLON REEF TANK.IM NOT SURE IF THERE IS ANY GUIDELINES THAT I MUST FOLLOW TO BUILD ONE. MY SUMP IS A 20 GALLON GLASS AQUARIUM. 30X12X12. DO I NEED TO PUT A CERTAIN AMOUNT OR MINIMUM AMOUNT OF BAFFLES? I JUST NEED HELP IM A LITTLE CONFUSED . IM NEW TO THE HOBBY BUT IVE KEPT FRESHWATER TANKS ALL MY LIFE AND I HAVE A 5000 GALLON KOI POND WITH 500 GALLONS OF FILTRATION. A DIY JOB

ANYONE HAVE ANY GOOD SITES, DRAWINGS OR PLANS?

Matt Rise

capslock.gif

ek9vboi

<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=7499566#post7499566 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by Matt Rise
capslock.gif

LOL!

But seriously, turn it off. On another point, I am planning to do my own sump too! Read up on it.

Here is my set up:
From the left to the right...
-Left would be the return area (where return pump would sit)
Baffles 3-4; over, under, over, and then under again if u have room (30L should be no problem). Space them about 1-1.5" away from each other. It eliminates mircobubbles, the slower the water enters this area, the better.
-Center would be refugium; place live rock, macro plants, and sand.
-Baffles (Should need just 1)
-Right; this spot is where the skimmer sit as well as the overflow water from the tank would enter.

Gerad

mine is set up with 3 chambers. 1 inlet from tank with skimmer. 2 my return. 3 a comtrolde amount of h2o and my refug. i have read that you should not run the refug before the return because it will force to much H2O through it. IDN just the way i do it. it seems to work so far.

RonD

Premium Member
just my 2 cents here...Your baffles on the left side look to be a bit close together.. this may cause your water to flow really quickly thru them and may not give enough time to de-microbubble before going back up to your display.. thus more microbubbles in your display.

ek9vboi

<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=7533929#post7533929 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by RonD