Dosing Kalkwasser in my 12G nano...help

joem1cha3l

Hey guys, i purchased an ATO system yesterday for my 12g long nano. I was curious, can I top off with a kalkwasser mix? The system allows a 1/4" tolerance each way before the pump kicks on. Would this be dosing too fast? The system evaporates approx 1/2 Gal. per day.

Darkstar22

Kalkwasser is good stuff! Just mix up according to directions in RO/DI water. Your ATO will replace all evaporated water in the tank. I have been using Kalkwasser for evaporation for over 15 years.

steelhead77

Correct me if I'm wrong, but it seems to me that unless you have an SPS or clam heavy tank, weekly water changes should take care of any trace mineral needs required for a 12 gallon Nano tank. I would think that dosing kalkwasser on such a small system is a recipe for disaster unless you are VERY careful.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
Premium Member
randy, i guess thats my question....how do i do this? just dose the top off water minimally?

A slow peristaltic dosing pump on a timer or other controller (or float switch) would be a good way with relatively little danger of overdosing. A drip line could also work and costs a lot less, but will be harder to control exactly. :)

Walking_Target

Just thought to throw in my $0.02 here.

I have a 14g nano that I routinely have to dose large amounts of Ca and Alk to, usually by a 2-part additive.

My LFS owner came up with a great idea - Using a calculator you can basically figure out your Ca and Alk depletion over the course of a few weeks.

Simply use a basic dripline type system with an appropiate drip rate and add the required amount of saturated Kalk mix, then top off using RO/DI slowly so as to not introduce much CO2.

This kills two birds with one stone, you get to add the needed Kalk, but at a dilution so as to not spike your pH.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
Premium Member
My LFS owner came up with a great idea -