February 2017 Reefer of the Month (ROTM)---tkeracer619

Nanook

Ancient Eskimo Legend
Staff member
RC Mod
Wow, what an honor to be selected as Reefer of the Month for the second time! I'd just like to say thank you to the Reef Central community and it's sponsors, it's a great asset for those in the marine aquarium hobby. It takes a lot of people to make this community what it is, so thank you all for this opportunity!

For those who don't know me my name is Mark. I have been keeping reef tanks since 2006, worked professionally at Aquatic Art Inc for several years, and for the last 6 years progressed my career as a Manufacturing Engineer. Like many of us, I started learning about reef tanks here on Reef Central. I had kept a few freshwater tanks here and there but ultimately took the saltwater plunge after finding RC. After the heartbreaking complete loss of my 360gal
during a move I certainly wouldn't have stuck with it if it were not for this community. Rebuilding has been slow but my next system that is in the works is taking shape and i'm pulling everything I have learned into making it something else!

Just the other day I was browsing through my first posts, some of them are a bit embarrassing, some of them are a bit silly, but most of them show the struggles that many reefers go through when getting started in this hobby. It made me think about what it takes to grow as a marine aquarium hobbyist and how each of us progress along different paths based on the information we have available. After Nanook told me about being selected as the Feb '17 ROTM I thought about the events that took place in my life since becoming the Nov '12 ROTM