Fertilize replanted Mangroves in a refugium?

crvz

Team RC
TLDR; is there a good way to fertilize replanted mangroves in a refugium?

-----------

This is a bit of a cross post with one in the plants forum, but I am hoping to get more exposure. I have these mangroves that I've been growing in a refugium for about 5 years. They looked like this in the 20 gallon tank I had about 4 weeks ago.

49710035103_5ed9b478e4_b.jpg

I was really happy with them, so I think.. "hey, bigger tank! Maybe make some better room for tridacna clams!" I build a new tank, make the swap, but therein lies the drama. I scooped each tree out with a huge shovel's worth of sand to try to minimize disturbing the roots. But in the process, I find more than 1 eunicid worm. Bad news.

49660176117_188385a6e9_b.jpg

Since this was new intel, and I didn't know what I had found at the time, I didn't change my plan and replanted the trees. When I'm done, they look like this in the new tank.

49663123646_1001406cf4_b.jpg

Over the next few days, I research the worms, recognize them for some pretty nasty pests (reports of 8 foot long specimens are legendary in the hobby), and decided to scope out the tank for any more. I put a red light over night and slap the nest cam to scope the sand bed. within 1 night, I find this 20" long worm, and other areas that imply he's not alone.

49710561911_237df7a7ee_z.jpg

So, for reasons, I decide to remove the sand beds entirely, sift through them, and mechanically remove all the terror worms. It was messy, and I found a total (between the first discovery and the sifting) of at least 4 worms, but since they split in pieces nicely it could have been more.

49710589396_be2cffa3f7_b.jpg

49710912432_ddf7db8922_b.jpg