Help me design a Frag tank!

ConcreteReefer

In Memoriam
My dimension are going to be 36"Lx20"Hx12"D, my acrylic guy is going to fabricate it for me.

I'm going to T off my return pump (reeflo tarpon) & push about 300 Gph through it. For shelving, I'm going to use Black acrylic eggcrate in 3 levels (high,medium,low). Flow- I'm thinkin a Sureflo 2100 MJmod will be enough. Lighting- A single 250w Reef Optix 3 w/a 10k xm bulb (positioned on the Right side- low light corals will be on the left). Here is a pic of my initial design **I'm not a pro in sketchup so I couldn't figure out how to add plumbing/bulkheads/etc..

Let me know what you think, I need to build asap!

fragtankrf3.jpg

3djedi

Looks pretty cool......are you going to use an overflo in it? Looks like the whole thing might drain out into the sump as is.....

Lance M.

Ooo Looks nice. What made you decide on 36''Lx20''W ? space? You'll probably want a bigger one later on so it wouldn't hurt to just go with a 48''x24''x12'' or longer (as space permits).

Looking forward to seeing this up and running.

ConcreteReefer

In Memoriam
It's going to match my 36"x20"x20" sump that I had built already.
The biggest I can go for now is 36"x20"... I would like to go bigger but cant. Here is a couple pics of my sump to give you an idea (I'm gonna use the smoked acrylic for bracing).

dscn0770ln1.jpg

dscn0768ks2.jpg

dscn0769po4.jpg

ConcreteReefer

In Memoriam
Well, got the tank- I have it setup temporarily as a holding tank until I get my 120g set up (click my red house to follow build thread). Here's some pics-

Building a stand-
DSCN0878.jpg

Done-
DSCN0879.jpg

Temp setup-
DSCN0880.jpg

*note- I had about a 1/2" bow in the acrylic, the fabricator cut a piece and came over this morning and installed it. It's not what I wanted but ohh well, it still works.

ConcreteReefer

In Memoriam
Wow! Finally, everything is done!
I attached 2 Sureflo 2100 MJ's to the bottom of the eggcrate on the right. 4200gph in a 50g tank!!