Is a Kalk Reactor Worth it?

Johnic

Premium Member
I've been dosing 2 part for 10 years with no issue but my PH is terrible and the price of 2 part went up big time.

My Ph hovers between 7.98 and 8.1 ish and I'd like to get it up to 8.2 -8.3
I'm dosing 60-70 ml of 2 part a day now and using about 1 gal a day of RO.

Should I go the way of the Kalk reactor ?

I wouldn't do it to chase PH but that's just me. I think if you dose kalk for ph you normally use a weak mixture so your ALK doesn't go sky high. Can you do weak mix in a reactor? I thought the purpose was to be as saturated as possible.

PH is driven by CO2 production in the system combined with what's in the air. Increasing surface agitation, running outside air into your skimmer line, having open windows all mitigate CO2 to varying extents and you'll see the PH start to change within an hour of adding any or all of them. A Co2 scrubber is also effective but expensive to operate IMO because of constantly needing to replace media.

All in all trying to mitigate CO2 is a better approach IMO. I just have my skimmer line run outside and my PH stays pretty high. I do also dose kalk but only to maintain 9 dkh alk.

KG_ph.png

Years back Greg Schiemer told me "all your make up water should be Kalk water".
I ran that way for years using a drum with the intake up off the bottom.
When low I would add what I needed, water & kalk, mix with a piece of pipe & wait until it cleared up before dosing again.
Cold water is better for dilution of kalk.
Pumps for mixing don't last in this solution.

Years back Greg Schiemer told me "all your make up water should be Kalk water".
I ran that way for years using a drum with the intake up off the bottom.
When low I would add what I needed, water & kalk, mix with a piece of pipe & wait until it cleared up before dosing again.
Cold water is better for dilution of kalk.