My Notes: Keeping, Feeding, and Selecting Your Mantis Shrimp

stealthspy589

Mantis Shrimp
Information pertaining to keeping, introducing, and what kinds of mantis shrimp there are was my primary goal when I first heard about these magnificent creatures. I have decided to compile my 'research findings' per say, so that it will help someone else in the future when they become curious about stomatopods, or happen to have one already that need advice.

Fine Print: I am not a doctor, PHD, Masters or any kind of educational teacher. I am not a scientist or any form of biologist. I am a saltwater enthusiast that has compiled a generic guide to Keeping, Feeding, and Selecting a type of Mantis shrimp. This is based on all of the research I have done through searching forums, college institutions research papers, findings and public material as well as hundreds of hours of research online. With all that said and done I hope that this helps someone down the line.

Kinds of Mantis

Largest (Roy's) list of Stomatopod species: bit.ly/1sNgQ3v

The two main types of Mantis Shrimp are Spearers, and Smashers. Spearers have an appendage that they can jab out and stab like a harpoon, generally hunting fish. While the Smasher has a club like appendage that beats harder shell crustaceans such as clams, crabs, lobsters, shrimp, etc.