My very first sw tank! Need advice on tank size plz!

Joce

Hi everyone!

I've been wanting to have an aquarium for a long time but as a student, I had to move frequently. Now that I'm finally settled down in one place, i can set up the tank of my dreams! :fish1:

Renovations in my new condo are about to be complete and I am going to custom build a peninsula-style tank right at the entrance. It'll be a mix reef with at least an anemone and clam that's not too crowded, with plenty of swimming room.

The space can allow a length of around 55 inches. What would a good width and height be that is proportional? Slightly longer or shorter is OK. And if it's not too much trouble, could someone also suggest ideal lighting for clams and anemones? I'm thinking it'll probably be some sort of MH lighting 250W? Are there any suppliers that do 220V for asia?

Thanks so much for your time!

Jocelyn :wave:

Shard

Lighting also depends on tank depth. If your tank was a 12" deep, then 150W metal halides would keep the corals nicely lit. If you plan on having a tank over 24" deep (2 ft) I would suggest bumping up the wattage as the depth increases. 250W metal halides are great for tanks less than 2 ft deep, but 400W metal halides are probably the best for deeper tanks. If you have the money to invest, have you considered LED lighting? I am about to replace the metal halide and PC lights on my tank with LED arrays, which should be more energy efficient as they use about 1/3 the power for higher PAR output than my current metal halide setup.