New kid on the block

PeacockReefs

Hi everyone!

I'm fairly new to the saltwater fish tank hobby. I currently have a tank up and running. So far so good (though I did have an outbreak of Cyanobacteria recently). I have a 40 gal breeder tank with about 43 lbs (give or take) of live rock. I have two ocellaris clowns, two tiny feather dusters, a spotted mandarin, and a cleaner shrimp. I feed the clowns mysis shrimp and the mandarin eats cyclops shrimp in addition to copepods. Right now I seed the tank with copepods periodically but I'm in the process of setting up a sump with a copepod refugium. I want to add coral eventually but I won't do that until I have the sump up and running. I currently have a canister filter. (I know this is probably the worst thing I could have but I didn't know that at the time of purchase. The LFS that I went to for the first time sold me a bunch of nonsense and I didn't know where else to get a second opinion). The bacteria outbreak is gone. I used chemi-clean and it went away in a matter of days. In the distant future I would like to add a dwarf lionfish (I understand the risks. That's why I'm waiting until all my current inhabitants get nice and big.). In the near future I would like to add a royal gramma and MAYBE a chalk bass (not sure if they will get along). I like the idea of a cherub angelfish but I've heard they aren't entirely reef safe. Same with a six-line wrasse. I really have no clue when it comes to coral. I've been thinking some clove polyps, Kenya trees, a blue sympodium? Idk. And what kind of light would you guys suggest? I was thinking the Fluval marine and reef LED light. Is this a good one? Any thoughts on a protein skimmer? The Coralife super skimmer 65 is what I've been thinking. I'm pretty lost here. I hope you guys can help :)

thats a lot of fish for a 40 Breeder.

especially once the lion-fish goes in.

Sounds like a good start though.