New to reefing.... 50 CUBE

mcidcbcmd

Hey guys I am new to reef tanks. I am purchasing a SC tank 50 gallon setup/sump tank. I plan on putting in 5-7 fish and beginner corals. I want to provide the best, hassle free, no second guessing environment that I can. Here is the list of supplies I plan on getting:

Tank comes with skimmer so I'm good.
Light- hydra 26
Powerhead - Tunze Nano stream 6055
Sand bed - fine live sand
Rock - bulk reef supply - pukani
AUTO Top Off - Tunze 3155 - or the 3152 not sure yet
RODI stage 4
GFO & Carbon reactor
Colbalt heater - what recommendations?

Might get an APEX Jr. - Any opinions would it be a worth wild investment? Any other things I may need? Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Get quality test kits for monitoring your and noting parameters. I would also put the pukani in sw to check the level of PO4 leaching before intro to the display tank. Consider adding a dosing system for maintaining your ALK/CAL/MAG levels.

Ok pm me with any questions as I recently started I would love to help. First you need to cycle your tank this is when the micro life in your tank grows at this stage there can be crashes if your not carful. So first I would add live rock if you want coral or dry with one piece of live what about 3 weeks and add something like 1 or 2 starter fish like clowns and go slow from there. Again pm me with any questions or in this chat!

do the tunze 3155, I have the same tank, I have had both the 3152 and the 3155, 3155 is the better investment for certain. The pumps are the same, it's the controller and sensors that are different.

I would recommend replacing the return pump included with the 50 SCA and get a DC pump. The JeBao DCT6000 is what I use, I have it running at 50%, works great.