OT - AV Gurus I Need Your Advice

jmsalt1

OK, I like nice AV equimpent as much as the next guy and there seems to be at least some correlation between those of us that like aquariums and AV equipment so I am asking here first for some advice. I am by no means an expert and do not have a small fortune invested in AV equipment like some but I like to make the best choices I can when looking at AV equipment and look to buy quality stuff without spending money just for the sake of spending money.

So here goes.

I have the remnants of a 5.1 surround system in our main family room. I have been looking at this underutilized system for over 6 years now and it's time to finally do something about it. I have another room in my basement that serves as the AV nerve center for the house so this is a "one off" set-up that just needs to service the family room off our kitchen with decent 5.1 surround because we tend to do the majority of our TV viewing in this space and when we entertain. Up until now, we have been getting by on the sound from the TV. Typical use is for sports, tv viewing, and occassionally we do watch movies in this room but with the understanding it is not a cinema quality dedicated home theater experience that we are looking to achieve.

It is a pain to make system changes because the system resides in a large custom armoire so it needs to be disassembled into three pieces and moved off the wall to make any meaningful changes to the set up. Therefore, I want to limit the time it takes to get things in place. I do all this stuff myself and I am not looking for a professional installer for this simple set-up.

The previous owner installed wall mounted Canton Plus S L / R front speakers on the wall. Here are the details I have been able to get on them:

Impedance - 4..8 ohms
Frequency Range - 45-26,000 HZ
Music Power Handling - 70 watts

Here is a picture of them.

picture.php