Planning a 120g

drew2007

So I just sold my 75g setup and I'm upgrading to a 120g. Here's my plan and list of equipment. I've been researching for a few months on this. Opinions and suggestions are welcome. My goal on this setup is silence! I want it to be as quiet as possible so....

Tank - footprint will be 48x24x24. Unless i go with a DSA 105 instead. I want rimless again so I'm not 100% on my choice yet. Drilled for bean animal with 1.5" drains
DIY stand skinned and painted black.
DIY 40 breeder sump designed with an ato section.
Return pump - eheim or sicce syncra
Skimmer - aquamaxx or jns coneS co2
Lighting - Maxspect LED from my previous setup. 3 modules to start will probably add another.
Flow - 2 vortech mp40's which I have and they are not loud at all.

All my live Rock will be getting bleached and acid bath. No more sugar fine sand or live sand. I'm going with special grade this time around.

My vote goes to the eheim (1262) for the return pump. It will give more than enough flow for the return and to run carbon/gfo reactors. It will also outlast the rest of the tank.

Sounds like we're both working on similar setups...

Tank - 48x24x21 rimless being built by Planet aquarium, 1" drains & 3/4" return
Stand - Coastal Designs, i think, is the name of the builder, black, nicely built
Sump - Eshopps R-300 36x16x16, got this dirt cheap from a guy leaving hobby
Return Pump - Tunze 1073.040. Both you mentioned hi on my list, Tunze low watts won me
Skimmer - Aquamaxx ConeS co2
Lighting - Reef Breeder Photon 48
Flow - 1 MP40, 1 MP10, scouting for another used MP40
Misc - BRS filter for GFO & carbon, BRS dosing 2 part, BRS dosing NoPox if I like it, Apex Neptune, Avast neck cleaner and skimmate collector
Maybe - Ozone reactor used one in past loved it, probably going to build/buy kalk reactor

Setup sounds good

"1 drains will be sufficient for a full siphon drain setup, properly setup you could get up to 1500 gph