Please help!!

Bargenq

I guess I got in way over my head. I wanted to upgrade my JBJ 45 all in one to a 180 with a large basement sump. I have been in the hobby for about 1.5 years. I have an RODI system, I mix my own saltwater, I have some plumbing experience, etc.

I don't know what in the hell is going on with the setup, but I cannot seem to figure out the overflow/pump. I have the aqueon mega flow system attached to PVC. I have two overflows with gate valves (1 1/2") and two pump lines with check valves (1"). It was hell converting from the barb fittings off the bulkheads to the PVC, but I used flexible tubing etc. I have unions above the floor below the tank and unions above the pumps so I can take apart and clean when needed.

I originally purchased two Jebao 12000DC return pumps to save money and they were way too loud and obnoxious and reverberated through the floor (along with lack of flow), so I returned those and bought what was recommended at the LFS, which are two Vectra L2 pumps. I was assured that these are WAY overpowered and should be plenty for what I need. I am having the same flow issues as the Jebao pumps and I cannot figure out what setting to put the pumps on to get good flow versus where to put the gate valves so the overflows are quiet. It seems like it's always on the brink of overflowing when the overflows are quiet or there is no flow and the overflows are incredibly bubbly and loud.