Purple tang experiences ?

ynot65

I'm adding a 3 1/2" purple tang to my existing 150 DT and was wondering what to expect after introduction. My other fish are as follows, coral beauty 2"+, a fox face 5", blond Naso tang 2", 3 purple fire fish, a marine betta 3", lawn mower blennie, 2 psychedelic mandarins.
All fish are very healthy, some fat, and the person I'm getting it from has had it for around 4 months. It's eating out of his hand, literally.
So I was wondering what others have to say about them and their experiences adding them. It will be the last fish added to this system that has been set up for a year. Here's a pic of my tank, it does have a mixture of sps and LPS corals as well as a few cleaner shrimps.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    46.3 KB · Views: 0
IMO, you should be ok. I have no experience with Purple Tangs, but I heard they can become quite aggressive once they become established. I have steer away from them due to that fact. I want one so bad.

The foxface and zebrasoma might not get along as the tang matures and gets larger. This has been my experience more than once. The Naso will out grow your current tank

I added an established purple tang to a tank with a blue tang and there was no aggression problems. I've added numerous fish afterwards and they have gotten along fine. I've had many people tell me that getting established tangs from other reefers is the way to go. I know lots of friends that have had trouble getting tangs to eat (Nasos, Achilles, etc.). Sounds like this purple knows how to be an aquarium fish. Go for it. I love mine - it's my favorite fish.