Saltwater Noob

lilblack94gt

So, I posted in the new to saltwater section on the main reef central site and it got deleted. I have a few questions as I am new to salt water. Maybe you local guys can help me out.

I have been big into freshwater tanks all my life. Recently, I have decided to get my feet wet in the saltwater scene. I have a 29gal tank I would like to use to start a saltwater tank. I figure start small and then go big once I get everything down in a small tank.

(Please, feel free to correct me) When setting up a saltwater tank, I know I should get live sand and rock, get established saltwater and let the tank cycle for about 2-3 months. What chemicals am I checking when I test the water? How often am I checking and changing water? How do you tell when a saltwater tank has cycled and is ready for coral and or fish?

What type of lighting (i.e. bulbs) should I use? How big of a refugium or do I even need one with this size tank? what size protein skimmer?

I am sure I am missing some pretty important questions, if so, please, fill me in :)

Welcome to the hobby... your thread is still there---> http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2212452