Show refugium?

Anthingy

So, I'm brand new to fishkeeping, but I'm helping my wife set up her first marine tank (after assorted tanks through her life).

In looking at how a refugium sump setup is laid out, it seems like it would be easy to cut a window into the lower case so that illuminated seaplants sway in the current of the pump-flow.

Looking at people's setups, it seems this is not normally done? Why not?

Also, thank you all for having such a helpful forum available!

Attachments

• Show Refugium.png
    Show Refugium.png
    1.9 KB · Views: 0
You can do that. there will be a lot of life in the refugium. I don't for several reasons. the light is on at night. I do not keep it clean like the dt.

+1. If you really want to, countersink magnets, and place a door that's removable to you have the option to cover it... Would be cool

You can do that. there will be a lot of life in the refugium. I don't for several reasons. the light is on at night. I do not keep it clean like the dt.

I think the main reason is that it's not as pretty and well maintained as the Display Tank. But there are some good examples out there, especially those with mangroves, showing how the filter portion of a setup can be beautiful too.

So, the issue isn't that there's an actual reason not to, it's just that keeping the fuge at display quality isn't usually worth the time (especially since there's all the life in the upper tank to distract people....)

Thanks!

You can keep it clean with normal maintenance. You shouldn't see any nuisance algae with all the macro that you'll have, so cleaning the glass and keeping a CuC in there will be more than fine to show off you fuge.

Your drawing looks very similar to my tank setup. I don't have a refugium but yet its just another tank with fish in it.