So people said it couldnt be done in my 27g hexagon.. I proved it can

Status
Not open for further replies.

candymancan

So my 27g hexagon reef tank has been running for 2 months or so now. I went to local fish stores.. asked on forums as im new to salt water and reef keeping but i have been doing fresh water for 20 years.

People kept cringing saying i need a sump.. i need a protien skimmer i cant do it.. nitrates will always be high... I need 0 everything to keep coral... Coral need low 70s for temps 80f wont work.. blah blah blah blah... I decided to just not bother asking anymore questions as ive been around that with fresh water and discus and people tend to have the same attitudes of you cant on those forums either... Such as you need bare bottom and you need low ph.. you need RO water you need to change water daily and so forth and i found non of that to be true.

Anyway. I resealed my childhood 27g hexagon.. Put about 50lbs of dead rock in it from amazon built up my rock wall and my archway in the center and i poured a gallon of nitrifying bacteria in the tank.. In 4 days the tank was cycled and I immediatly put coral and fish in.. I put in a bubble coral, torch coral, hammer coral, green stylophora, a type of brain coral, purple monitpora and a purple acropora, i also was given a bleached coral that looked luke a birds nest or some kind of stylophora perhaps.. Also got a sagging green tree nepthea.

I started with 4 65w power compact lights as i had no more funds... Guess what the bleached coral i was given came back to life extending polyps turning dark brown and then a neon green on its branches looks interesting.. The stylophoras also a very brighy green and they too went from whitish to dark brown on the skin.