Sudden, simultaneous fish death following water change

medicreefer

Well, I somehow killed my pair of nearly 10-year-old Ocellaris clownfish doing a water change. I have no idea what happened, but I'm hoping somebody here may have some ideas. It's too late for my fish, but I need to know. The entire event was very unexpected, sudden, unexplainable (so far), and rather devastating. Not knowing is killing me. I'll try to be as detailed as possible.

A bit of background:
I've been keeping a simple reef tank for about 10 years now (just LPS and GBTA), and I'd say my husbandry skills are fairly good, keeping a very stable system. The 2 clowns were my first fish inhabitants, and for most of that time the only ones. For the past 5+ years they've been in a 50 gallon DT (though the system is much larger at ~100g, as I've been lucky enough to have space for a large sump and fuge behind the back tank wall in a storage room).