T5 vs T5... Is There a difference?

Psychotrshman

Good afternoon,
I am brand new to the hobby and have very little experiance with a 30 gal FOWLR that ended in disaster. So, to prevent further disaster, I'm trying to broden my information sources to learn as much as possible. My first and main question is prolly one of the most important for turning my tank into a reef tank. What is (if there is any) the difference between a T5 light fixture from a petstore and a T5 light fixture from a hardware store?

I know the bulb is what provides the specific light spectrum needed, but I asked an Electrical Engineer here at work, and he doesnt know of any differences. I figured that maybe the Reef-a-holics out there may know some thing he didnt, becuase the price difference is about 100 bucks. Which, if theyre the same thing, I'd rather not spend that extra money, but the LFS guy is telling me that I HAVE to use that specific T5 or everything will die.

Any information is greatly appreciated. I hope to be back often as I do my research, I found alot of useful information here before I joined, so thanks to everyone out there for the help. Have a good one.

There could be a difference in the ballast between the 2 fixtures, find out what they are. Everything else would be the same, they will both work with any T-5 bulb of the same length. If you are looking to keep corals, you will want the T-5 HO bulbs & those could require a better ballast to drive them. Good luck & welcome.

no expert here but I think you will find the difference is that the ones meant for aquarium use are high output and the ones at the hardware store are considered standard.

LOTS of stuff in the manufacting circles gets "re-branded", and yes even in the lighting world....
OTOH, those gals/fellas over in that T5 Q&A thread were very helpful and even gave this ole timer a education.... check that thread out...its pretty cool and worth reading

P.S. I just followed "orders" and couldn't be happier!!!