Torch corals not extending?

KHenderson

Hi all!

I am new to RC and reef tanks as well. I hope this isn't a repeat, but I scoured the site for help but couldn't find a thread similar to my current issue. Also, please forgive any silly auto-correct mistakes, as I am typing this on my iPad!

I need some advice, my torch corals are suddenly not doing well. I have three small, two/three headed torches in various places in my tank. They have been in there for months, and have always been very happy. For the past 7-10 days, two of the torches have receded. The tentacles are sucked in and very pudgy. I have carefully inspected the corals in day and night hours and I can rule out a pesky CUC member messing with it, pests, and fish bites. The tentacles (is that the proper term? Y'all know what I mean!) are not damaged, discolored, deflated, wrinkly, or coated in anything. I have not seen the coral excrete anything at all, and it still reacts (slightly, of course) to a baster feeding, tucking itself in a little tighter when "sprayed." I have not changed anything on the tank except adding a school of chromis 3 weeks ago. The chromis had undergone a full quarantine stint prior to introduction. The lights are custom LED's, with the par meters reading steady since their installment well before the torches went in.

I'm am thoroughly stumped. After 3 days of this behavior, I changed and decreased the carbon, have checked my params 2x daily to rule out fluctuations, removed a small toadstool leather just in case (which was nowhere near them), and have done a slow 20% w/c. I am reluctant to move or dip the torches or to decrease lighting or flow because I don't want to stress them or my system, and because they have been so happy and growing there for long before now.