Transferring 6 gallon to 16 gallon help!

Mhubb321

Hi everyone I'm new to the hobby and have been running a 6 gallon Eheim aqua style for 6 months now. I got a deal on a innovative marine nuvo 16 the other day that I couldn't pass up so now I will be looking to transfer the tanks. I have a clownfish and a cleaner shrimp in my tank now and a few corals as well, along with cuc and about 3 pounds of live rock. I will be buying 10 more pounds of live rock to add to the new tank. I'm planning on buying a new sand bed as well. What is the best way to go about switching everything over? Should I move everything into the new tank at once or is there going to be a small cycle? Or should I just let the new tank cycle on its own with new rock in it before I add everything else to the tank?

If the 10 pounds you are getting is truly live rock and it was kept in water the whole time, then I would add the rock,sand and water to the 16 wait for the dust to settle. I would then ghost feed or add some ammonia source to verify that you can process the ammonia, I would suspect if the 10 pounds is live you will have a small to no cycle. If all goes well then add your 3 pounds of rock and your livestock. good luck