What corals to choose?

aklaum

Greetings noble sages,

I'm completely new to the world of reef keeping, no tank set up yet, zip. I have spent the past 5 months reading the top books (thank you Mr. Borneman, Mr. Calfo, Mr. Paletta) and researching online and I think I may be getting to the point where I am ready to start thinking about setting up a system.

One of the things I see over and over from those with great experience is the following:

"Tell us what kind of corals you want to keep first and then we will tell you what kind of lighting/water flow/feeding etc. you should have"

I think the challenge for someone like me is that it would be much easier to answer that question if I had been already keeping corals for years :D

So I totally buy into the sentiment and am trying to figure out how to go about it.

The other impression I am getting from those who know is that "garden" reefs are...challenging...a compromise...not the best possible care for all animals involved.

I get that too and am trying hard to ignore the fact that a large majority of "successful"/"featured"/"dream" systems seem to be squarely in the garden category.

So choose your animals before you build and garden is bad. Cool...I'm in.

So I'm gazing down at "Aquarium Corals - Selection, Husbandry, and Natural History" and thinking "Wow, that's a lot of corals, a lot of different directions to go, where do I start?"

So how does one start? Seems like the vast majority of people start the old fashioned way by just diving in, putting together a garden reef, having lots of failures, lots of death, learning on the fly. I'm not up for that, I don't have the time or money for that kind of thing. I want to do it right from the start. So I'm hoping for maybe a hint or two to get started or perhaps what one of the experts would choose when faced with a new system. Just to help narrow it down I have a few thoughts about what I am looking for out of the system: