What would you do - repair or replace?

Bryan3536

I am brand new to hobby, just finished cycle and added two fish to my 180g. I love SPS, but realistically I see this being a fish/softy tank, as I just don't see myself committing to the added work required for SPS corals.

For lighting, I picked up an older, 72" Coralife Aqualite Pro MH/Compact Fluorescents/LED combo light more or less free (Guy I bought tank from threw it in). From what I've read, it was the state of the art a decade or so ago.

"œFREE" is relative, though - I need to replace all the bulbs (3 double ended MH's, and 4 compact fluorescents). In addition, 3 of the 4 CF ballasts need to be replaced - I'd likely just do all 4, which I estimate will cost another $120-160.

The light is impressive, I know it will light the tank well, and I see all the old school experienced guys saying on this board and others how much they like the MH/T5 combo over LEDs. I think a purist would tell me to keep the light.

-HOWEVER-

I have a hard time putting $$ into older technology; against my nature. It's also physically big - when I compare it to the used AI Prime I picked up for my fuge, which I can move around with ease, I see how it will be a chore in a year when the bulbs need replacing again, not to mention just hanging it and moving/working around it for daily maintenance. Guven I'm not 100% committed to doing SPS corals, I wonder if it is worth the added effort.

So what would you do? Put the money into this light because it's darn good enough, the investment is cheaper than a good new lighting system, and see where I am in a year, or try to sell it now and roll whatever I get into some used LEDs? If the latter, what should I do? Grab two more AI primes and something cheap for the fuge? 3 Kessil pendants? If you can't tell, I don't want to drop another $600-$1200 into lighting at this point.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk