220G Reef Build in the Caribbean...

CaptAndrew

I posted this in the Special Interests forum and got no response, so figured I'd try it here since I am new to the hobby after all.

Hello All,

To give a little background, I live on the island of Tortola, in the British Virgin Islands. I am the Captain of a charter yacht for a living (my tank will be in my house) and subsequently do a lot of diving. As much as I love boats, I have decided that I need a hobby that keeps me at home a little more. After about a year of research (and a lot of convincing for the fiancee), I have decided I'm going to give reefkeeping a try.

Reefkeeping on Tortola is going to present a few challenges. First off, power and water are hot commodities, and temperature is high. Our house is on top of a mountain and naturally aspirated as opposed to air conditioned. Air conditioning would jack our power bills up by about $400/month. I'm obviously going to need a chiller, but I want to put as little heat into the tank as possible, so all pumps will be external and lighting will be LED. Water is fed to our house from a cistern (rain water from the roof). We have running water on island in urban areas, when a cruise ship is in it gets shut off so they can have it all. RO/DI is going to be tough in the house. I have been looking at 1:1 systems to minimise waste water, but that's still a little too much waste. I am intending on a pretty high evaporation rate as it will help dissipate some heat. The upside is that I have what we yachties call a watermaker. It is an RO plant which produces 58 gallons/hour from salt water on board. Given that I usually have 1000 litters (a metric ton) of water in the tanks and it's all RO water, I do have a source which I can put to use but I will have to transport it up the mountain.