Back to the future…

DjPhato

Hi all, happy to be here! I wanted to introduce myself, I am Italian but I live in Boston, MA with my family. I am a cancer biologist. I have build and maintained multiple tanks for for more than 10 years in Italy but I stopped once I moved to USA 7 years ago. Now I am ready to start again and I am eager to refresh my knowledge and continue to learn about aquariums. I would like to create a 60-65gal tank with sump, sps lps and just 2-3 fish, led illumination, good skimmer and probably classic Berlin method with great rocks. I was considering to buy the Tank+Support from RedSea (Reefer 250 G2+) but not sure about skimmer, light and pumps maybe ecotech. Please suggest and advise about bacteria method (any new ones that work well), technical equipment (whats your favourite skimmer, pump) and if you own the Reefer please let me know how it is. Thanks everyone!!!!

I don’t have a Red Sea so I can’t help with that, I will say be sure to look into seam breaks with Red Sea. Not sure how many apply to the G2 tanks, but I know G1 had quite a few issues.

With that said, it seems most of the popular bacterias do well. Dr. Tim’s or Fritz TurboStart. I believe @Dr. Reef uses the Fritz Turbo Start. I do always encourage getting at least a piece or two of live rock for seeding purposes just for the diversity.

I currently don’t run a skimmer, but I do have a Reef Octopus that worked well when I ran it.

For pumps I went cheap and run Jebao. A nice thing with the Ecotech wavemakers is you don’t have the cords in the tank.

Lighting, the Red Sea lights get good reviews, but today, pretty much any reef led fixture will do the job, it just comes down to what features you want or controlability with regards to sunrise/sunset features, spectrum adjustability, etc.

Hope this helps some!