Best of the Best

GetJoe

I have about 10 years of experience with marine fish but, have been away from the hobby for about 15 years. I'm sure a lot has changed.

If you had an unrestricted budget, what equipment would you select for a 180-200 gallon tank/set-up. I grew up believing that the best, while generally being more expensive on the front end, may save me plenty of disappointment and money on the back end. While I will "tinker" with the system, I'm looking for it to be as automated as reasonable with today's technology.

Thanks,
Joe

Yes, a lot had changed over the years. One thing you're going to be a bit shocked by (if you haven't already researched) is the price of livestock. For example, back in the late 90s/early 2000s you could get a softball size colony of Acropora for $40-50. Now, a 1-2" frag could cost you $20 up to hundreds of dollars (if not more).

Since you seem to want to automate, there are some good systems out there. I only have experience with Apex but, I only use it minimally since I'm a bit old school. That said, Apex, Hydros and Reef Pi all have good reputations.

For return pumps, there are a lot of great DC controllable pumps on the market.

Water movement, again, there are a lot of great controllable/variable speed controlled powerheads out there.

For skimmers, again, there's a lot of good ones on the market. I personally am using an OLD eShopps cone skimmer and have never had any issues with it.

Lighting, as I mentioned, I'm old school and still using Metal Halide with an actinic LED strip light. But, a lot of people like the today's LED systems as you can adjust the color to your liking, they us less energy and produce less heat. Some of the more popular LEDs are:
EcoTech Radions
AquaIllumination
Kessils
Red Sea
Reef Breeders