Cutting middle support out of stand??

Redsox Nation

So I have a standard aquarium stand for my 120 and I am wanting to build a custom sump for it but the center support beams are in the way. I am unsure if this is something realistically can be removed wothout jepordizing the support obviously? Im no engineer nor ever built a stand so unsure, but was curious if I removed them if I could then poss add to make up for it?

will get pics up when I get home

Im not sure if I would remove a center brace from a premade stand, might want to build a stand for it honestly. It's really quite simple.

Show a pic and we can figure it out. I removed my center brace on my 265 when it was full, Once I added the new sump, I stuck it back in.

I should add, I added temporary braces just far apart enough to get the sump in. Then removed them and pu the center back in.

Last edited:
The 180 I built had a removable middle center brace as well. Took it out a couple times to service sump. I would do it on a homemade stand not a premade one though.

Its amazing how some of the pre made stands out there are able to hold some of these tanks I took one apart very easy it was 1"x4" which is really only ¾" and held together with staples and clips the wood was butted together and the clips and staples were completely rusted....I would only trust my own stand personally IMO

Its amazing how some of the pre made stands out there are able to hold some of these tanks I took one apart very easy it was 1"x4" which is really only ¾" and held together with staples and clips the wood was butted together and the clips and staples were completely rusted....I would only trust my own stand personally IMO

Exactly lol, that's why the guy I gave my solana stand to turned it into a desk.