Dual return pump plumbing design w/ a manifold

J Crew

I'm hoping I can get some input and help designing my return plumbing back to my RSR display tank. I want to run a dual return pump setup for redundancy and will use my GHL to control the speed. I want to plumb in a manifold on the back side wall from the tank to run most equipment and then have it tie back in to the return going up to the display tank. Is this possible? I'm assuming I'll need a back flow valve, which I have shown in my very poor drawing, lol. I'm sorry, but I'm not very good at drawing at all!

Scan 2023-7-22 18.38.21.jpg

I appreciate your feedback, opinions, and input.

Never done anything like that myself but, I would thing, as long as you use ball/gate valves to adjust the flow to/from the manifold you should be good.

Frankly, I think a single return pump with a spare in a closet is good enough, but it's your tank.;).

I'm going to assume by redundancy you mean fail-over. One pump runs, but if it fails the other kicks in. In that case, it looks to me like you would need a check valve or a foot valve at each pump. Otherwise, if one pump fails or is off, water will just pump out the intake of the other. The check valves will fail; they just will. There's too much stuff growing in reef plumbing to put faith in a check valve. Beyond that, you wouldn't need that piece of pipe and the back flow valve.

Do you want all return flow to go through the UV? I think I would have it feed off the manifold and return to the sump.

Since you won't see the flow and where it's going how will you ever tune it or know the flow through your UV unit?

Since you won't see the flow and where it's going how will you ever tune it or know the flow through your UV unit?
I’ll have a GHL flow meter with a ball valve to adjust the flow.