Labview

Symantec

Premium Member
Has any one attempted a labview based controller.

the possibilities are endless with a labview controller and the programing is very easy.
is there something I'm missing as to why this hasn't been tried before

only down side I see is that a computer has to be running for the controller to run, and if the computer crashes so does your controller. but if fail safes are setup correctly i don't see this being a problem.

I vote for trying it.

I have very little experience with LabView, but I know it's capable of a lot.

I am trying I bought Labview 8.5. I am trying to use it with Adam modules and self containted pH / orp/ etc controllers, so when the computer crashes everything else should be ok. But I am having a difficult time with the programming! Anyone any good at it?

This just may be the one topic on this forum that I can really chip in my 2 cents!

Yes I use it almost every day at work. Standard industrial applications. Absolutely love it.

What you perhaps have not uncovered is that it's expensive, The software and hardware is pricy. But damn it is nice.

Check out the RT systems to avoid crashes. You can put this on a cFP or cRIO system easy...

What are you trying to do?

I built a labview application that polled the modicon PLC I had running my tank. All of the control was done in the PLC though.. Labview was only as an HMI.

Would you guys be using the NI hardware that goes with Labview?

Yup. I have a cRIO and a cFP at my disposal!!
dixonjk and I took the discussion offline we ended up crafting a little application to test out some ethernet-based IO modules talking modbus.

I don't know if that's running or not. At last discussion a long time ago it hadn't actually been used. We'll see if he chimes in.