Media Reactors overkill for Nano Reefs?

Kayvon77

Hey guys,

So I'm pretty new to the world of Nano Reefs. I have a 29g BioCube that is lightly stocked and has been running for almost a month now. I am wondering if the use of a media reactor, for example for phosphate and nitrate removal, etc., is really necessary if I just keep up with the water change and filter maintenances? I seem to read a lot of threads about people installing media reactors for these small systems.

I do have a pretty good water chemistry (at least I think), and the only thing that I'm battling with is keeping the phosphates and Nitrates low in the ideal ranges, but I'm thinking with time and regular water changes that should correct itself given the bio load and the newness of the tank. I also want to keep the use of additives and chemical use as well as daily maintenance to the bare minimum.

So, having said that, I would love to hear your critique or take on my thought process there and if anyone has any experiences to share for a nano cube without Media Reactors for PO4 and N3 control. I'm still a novice at this so I may be just naive about what it takes to keep a healthy nano reef thriving, but please enlighten me with your invaluable wisdom :)

Here's my current set-up, water chemistry, and live stock inventory. Let me know what your think?
Coralife Protein Skimmer
InTank media basket fitted with Chemipure Elite and RowaPhos in its second and third chambers.
Heater
Stock lighting, pump, etc.

PH 8.0
Alk 9 dKH
Cal 380
Temp 79-81
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 20ppm

Livestock:
Assortment of snails and hermit crabs (my clean-up crew)
Brittle Star
Sandsifting Starfish
Three Chromies
One Fire Shrimp

Thanks guys. Look forward to your responses.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Whoops! Forgot to include my coral collection, duh....
Few Zoas
GSP
And a few beginner whatcha-Ma-call it corals!

You're already running chemipure and rowaphos... In my opinion, you're already overdoing it.