My steel stand project

five.five-six

Just picked up a new to me 225 peninsula tank 72L X 30W X 24H. It needs a stand and it seems that building a steel stand is only marginally more expensive than one of wood in comparison to strength and utility.

I have some experience welding, fence repairs and the like with my flux core wire feed welder but I also have access to a 300 amp MIG, which is what I would be using for this project.

I am thinking I would use 2" square tube but I really have no idea what thickness or type of steel. The design, I think will just be a rectangle with cross members for the top connected with 6 posts to a bottom rectangle and probably 6 adjustable feet.

I live in a seismic zone 4 arena so I will be adding gussets. I am thinking that if I recess the gussets just right, I will be able to skin the stand with Masonite or other suitable thin material position magnets to attaché to the gussets without having to use a thicker material and recesses the magnets into the removable panels.

Is powder coating a must or are there paint options? I have heard you can finish it with truckbed liner.

Depending on the specifics of the design 2 x 2 x 16ga could be used without issue.
When in doubt and weight is not an issue throw 11ga at it.. ;)

You can certainly powdercoat it.. (expect a couple hundred to do so though)..

And yes you can certainly do it yourself for under $100 in spray paint/bed liner..
Self etching primer to start followed by the finish of your choice RustOleum or whatever color you like.. Bed liner would be fine too.. I use that process for the rocksliders, bumpers, etc... that I've welded for my Jeeps and it takes a beating...
Any sprayed finish can easily take exposure to anything from this hobby..

I think I’m going to do the top frame and corner posts in 2” X 3” 12 gauge Everything else (bottom frame, center posts and cross members) will be 2” X 2” 14 gauge.