Need advice on studying reef ecology, sustainable captive growth, and coral farming.

redfishsc

Howdy all,

Entertain me in a daydream for a moment. :spin3:

I just need some direction to start looking into the opportunities to be found (or created).

I am closing in on finishing my grad work in theology. My lifelong love for anything and everything aquatic has also been drawing me toward further study of captive propagation of coral and producing sustainable results. I actually have theological reasons for wanting to study corals (stewardship and ecology) but I'll save that discussion for another time (for obvious reasons). Feel free to PM me if that interests you.

Right now I am a mere hobbyist, with the small amount of scientific background that comes with having a B.A. degree with a few extra physics classes tossed in. Not to mention the school of Randy. I've "sat at his feet" for the past year and learned an enormous amount from him and others.

Anyhow, I am considering looking around (perhaps internationally) at universities that offer grad work in coral reef ecology.

My main interest is to eventually contribute as much as I can to propagating corals for the hobby trade that are otherwise in danger from the potentially catastrophic bleaching even that is predicted to take place in the coming generation. Likewise I would like to contribute what I can to promoting the hobby, increasing our ability to propagate more varieties and more sensitive varieties.

If this all comes to fruit, as I am daydreaming it, I may end up in the Pacific Rim, teaching local, impoverished people groups how to farm/propagate corals inland, in order to supply the huge coral markets that seem to have opened up in Japan and other eastern nations.