New person diving into a new'ish hobby!

Jivatma

Hello reefers!

I've recently got the bug to start a saltwater tank, and by recently, its been going on almost 5 years now. I just haven't had too much time to really jump in, nor the finances to do my dream tank. But, I did manage a good deal for a marineland 38gal bowfront for $20. It had freshwater fish in it, but I want to put a small reef in it. That being said, I have a few questions to get started with.

First, I can't seem to find a stand made specifically for this tank, and I don't trust petsmart reviews on their 36gal bowfront topfin stand. So I think I'm going to try and build one! I'm no woodworking expert, but I know how to use a saw and drill. It can't be that hard, right? Also, all the diys and tutorials I've seen are for the more standard square/rectangle fish boxes, so my real question would be, how do I go about building a stand for a bowfront? My only real need in the stand is room for a sump, and hopefully the ability to remove the sump for cleaning or replacement/modifications.

Also I do not like the sight of things going over the tank lip and I don't wanna trust a siphon overflow. I know there are good ones out there, but I'd just rather not. So i'm wanting to drill the tank for a ghost overflow. I also imagine I'll have to drill for returns, so my next question would be: 1 or 2 return lines on a tank this size?

Overall thats where I'm at mentally. I do want a typical reef to start with, a few small fishies (clown, goby, shrimps, and any other pretty looking additions that are friendly enough) a decent cuc, and of course some coral, possibly an anemone. I'm a complete beginner when it comes to trace elements, dosing, reactors, etc. So im definitely just looking at something easy to start with. After I get some confidence, I do plan on upgrading.

So those are my plans! Any input, tips, tricks, pitfalls to avoid, or just totally random questions, please feel free to share!