Peninsula 650

Kirino

Hello again, I'm finally starting up the red sea P650 I've been posting about here (in case you're interested in the cabinet). It was filled up once before, but after using equipment from my other tank, I felt like I had to empty it, clean it, clean it some more and leave it dry for a month. Maybe a bit silly, but I want to go the route where I quarantine everything.

Picture with the lights on:
1698855759648.png

Feel free to comment on my first time, probably flawed aquascape. I really wanted the peak on the right for some reason. You probably can't tell, but there is a swimming lane from one side to the other between the rocks for the fish. With one kinda cave like bridge on the right under the twin peak. Then a little plateau in the middle, which is fairly closed off on this end, but pretty open on the back end. On the left we have a rock standing straight up and one creating a bit of a hangover.

Here's a little clip:

Since I'm a total beginner, there won't be any crazy hard corals any time soon, so for now lotsa rocks to put stuff on. As you can see it's kinda bare-bottom, with maybe too big base stones. They are all movable, individual pieces that are easy to handle though. Should make it easy to move something aside and do maintenance. Or who knows, in the future even take out an entire piece. The only thing that's hard to move is the silly twin peak.

Regarding the actual start up, I've tossed in an entire bottle of some German bacteria blend, probably around 3 weeks ago with an ammonia source. Forgot the exact date, probably should write these things down .. and started dozing Polyplab genesis bacteria daily. I figured, the more bacteria strains, the better. I also got those Polyplab genesis stones in the sump.

Cycling progress report:
- so the first week my ammonia Sera test colors light green, which is 0,5 ppm. Yellow is 0 and darker green is 1 ppm. So to be honest it could be anything in the range of 0 to 1 ppm, right?