Pico tank for elementary school class?

mossimo654

Hi all,

I'm a 5th grade teacher. I'm lucky to teach in a place that I have e a lot of freedom in what I teach.

With that said, I decided I'd like to cover my biological science standards with marine biology unit. To accompany this I'd like to setup some sort of small marine biome where we can measure and see evidence of nitrification, detritivores, perameters like specific gravity etc.

I have a 55 gallon reef at home that I take care of regularly. Lots of healthy corals, a cuc and a flasher wrasse. So I more or less know what I'm doing when it comes to that size tank.

So anyway I'd like to set up some sort of pico system for our class, but I'm wondering how I should go about it.

The only major issue is COST. I teach public school... lol. I am not looking to grow corals, invest in expensive lighting (or expensive anything). This project will likely be disassembled at end of school year and all surviving creatures added to my tank.

However, with that said I think this class is responsible and precise enough to keep up with maintenance, abd it would just be a really cool fricken project. Do you all think I could set up a pico with like a shrimp and some macro algae and maybe a goby or something? What would I need to think through? Any consideration I'm missing?

This would be awesome and the kids can learn so much. I think you already have the knowledge to do so of course..

What i would do.. Talk to some of the Local pet shops in your area and ask them or ask them to ask some of the reg customers about a Donation or even a loaner for the project. I bet you would not have a hard time doing so.. My only suggestions would be safety. I would try to get a acrylic tank and a desk to set it on that is way larger so you can push it back away from the edge . of course use proper surge protection and We. you know blaa blaa blaa.. For a classroom situation..

The Invert tank idea is kewl...