Question on Reef Octopus skimmers.

Scuba Dan

Asked this same question in the equipment section and surprised I have not received any comments. So I'm here to ask the local guys/gals. I'm in need of a new skimmer. Looking into a Reef Octopus skimmer. I own other Reef Octopus equipment and VERY pleased with their products and customer service. My question is on the performance between the skimmers shown below. Which skimmer is a better design? I've read great reviews on both. Is performance equal between the 2 skimmers and it's just a space saving benefit with the one?
Thanks.....

04e688f4-237a-490d-8cdd-8e39c64588c9_zpspsl5cl8y.jpg

d25a731b-7a67-4b5b-8584-6290acca94a6_zpsxmavythu.jpg

Im no expert, and ive never had a reef octopus. But i have owned both designes of skimmers you posted. I personally had better results with a cone design skimmer. Just my experience

Sent from my SM-T230NU using Tapatalk

But id imgaine there are quite a few things that impact the skimmers performance, not just the body design.

I agree with Nathan. I find the cone design to work better. Might help if you gave us the product numbers with the pics so we could look up the specs. I have both designed reef octo skimmers and both work well.

I own the the first model pictured. If you have the money and the room I would recommend the second one simply because it a gate valve for better control and a larger cup that has a drain off connector built in. That said I really like my space saver skimmer and it is probably cheaper. It will get the job done just fine I'm sure.

Actually if you look on the reef octopus website the gate valve is second to the red twist tube. Because you can always see exactly where the twist tube is set where the gate valve you can't see you have to try to remember how many turns you did. I personally have a reef octopus elite 220int and love it. It has the red twist tube and it's great

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk