refugium

iansnakebite

i have an old 35L tropical fish tank with lighting is it worth turnig this in to a refugium and what would i need to do this? as i'm very new to the hobby
cheers.

i have a 180L tank with a eheim 2213 and a eheim 2215 canister filter one is mechanical other is biological priqm delux proteen skimmer, live sand and 13kg of live rock tank is about 2 months old how much would this 35L refugium help and what other equipment will i need?
cheers Ian

deffinitely do not go with the cpr overflow. GO with a lifereef overflow. lifereef.com

I never thought that a refugium would make a difference, now I wonder how I ever lived without it. My water parameters are right on the money and NO ALGAE PROBLEMS, cleaning of the glass and that is it.

:smokin:

<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=6437669#post6437669 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by Paulairduck
deffinitely do not go with the cpr overflow. GO with a lifereef overflow. lifereef.com

I never thought that a refugium would make a difference, now I wonder how I ever lived without it. My water parameters are right on the money and NO ALGAE PROBLEMS, cleaning of the glass and that is it.

:smokin:
just out of interest mate why is that?

one other thing as it will be a plain tank will i need to put in deviders and how will i determine how powerfull a return pump i will need?

<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=6446623#post6446623 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by iansnakebite
just out of interest mate why is that?
The CPR overflows have to have a pump that has them keep there siphon. Without the pump the siphon would break and you would have a overflowing tank.
If the power ever goes out and the pump fails to turn on you have a flood. If the pump ever gets dirty or clogged and isnt working to the full benefit of the overflow, you will have a flood.